The Pacific Northwest (AKA YMI’s Jerusalem)

20 Jun
YMI's Jerusalem

YMI's Jerusalem

In my blog Wednesday I said I’d let you know some more about my most recent YMI adventure.  Well, on Tuesday I started my newest YMI project: Operation Tier 1 – at least that’s what I call it.

During our inredibly-long-but-extremely-productive staff meeting on Tuesday, we sort of re-evalutated our Tier 1 trips and decided to take somewhat of a different approach in the coming year and beyond.  Our mission statement is “to make faith active while spreading the Gospel of Jesus Christ at home and around the world” (emphasis mine), and so far we have done a great job focusing on the “around the world” part. 

The problem is that we feel we haven’t given the “at home” part the attention and importance that it’s due.  In Acts 1:8 Jesus says that we’ll be his witnesses “in Jerusalem, in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.”  We have focused a lot on the Judea and Samaria part, but now we’d like to really hit the ground running with the local trips in the Pacific Northwest – our Jerusalem. 

During the meeting I told Brian (el presidente) that I love the international trips and think it’s a great thing that God is allowing us to do, but I really feel that my heart is with the Tier 1 trips, the local trips.  You see, I could have stayed in Texas and hooked up with an agency like YMI and done pretty much the same thing I’m doing now, but I didn’t.  I feel God has called me to Washington to minister here, not just anywhere.  This is why my heart is so drawn to the local trips and why I’m so glad that we’re “re-vamping” the Tier 1 program. 

So my job right now is to go over our current program and develop a strategic plan to implement the new ideas we have for Tier 1.  I don’t want to give away any details yet before it all gets approved by the board and what-not, but I will as soon as I can.  It’s all really exciting, and I can’t wait to see where God takes us in this endeavor.  In the meantime, please pray that God will continue to give his direction in all of this so that we will be doing the work he desires and not the work we desire. 

Hope everyone’s weekend has gotten off to a fantabulous start, and look forward for more blogging action next week!

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________

*If you’d like to be added to my email list so you can be notified when I post a new blog, shoot me an email at kendall@ymimissions.org.

Quick Links:

Contribute to my ministry at YMI

Youth Missions International Website

Project Resonate with John Yao

Follow me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

