Apartments & Philippians

5 Aug

Today is August 5th, and I can hardly believe it.  On Saturday, I will have been in Washington for 3 months.  It feels like I have been here a week, and all the sudden I’m making plans for my trip down to TX for the month of September.  I’m getting more and more excited about my visit home.  I’m ready to see my family…and my dog.  🙂

I have some exciting news.  Hannah, my best friend, and I went apartment hunting the other day to try to find a place for us to live.  As usually happens, the last place we looked at – the one we had lots of doubts about before we visited – was the one we fell in love with.  We love the location, the price, and the charming vibe from it.  So tomorrow we’re applying and putting down a deposit!  Speaking of money, this leads to my next thought.

If you don’t know already, as a YMI staffer I am not paid an actual salary.  All my income is based on the funds I raise from family and friends.  Talk about a big faith test for me.  For the last couple of months I have been living off the income from my last job as well as graduation gift money.  As the number in my bank account depletes, I find my faith being tested more and more, especially when there are big financial responsibilities heading my way – things like rent and more bills. 

Hannah sent me these verses the other day that served as much-needed encouragement:

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.  And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus…And my God will supply every need of yours according to his riches in glory in Christ Jesus.”  — Philippians 4:6-7,19

This has been my prayer over the last couple of days, that God will allow me to completely rely on him for my needs and to rest in his peace along the way.  I humbly ask as well that you pray for me in these areas, especially over the next couple of weeks.  Pray that Hannah and I will be approved for the apartment and that God will supply the funds we need to keep it.  Thank you ahead of time for your prayer cover and support!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

*If you’d like to be added to my email list so you can be notified when I post a new blog, shoot me an email at kendall@ymimissions.org.

Quick Links:

Contribute to my ministry at YMI

Youth Missions International Website

Project Resonate with John Yao

Follow me on Twitter

Leave a Reply

