Newsflash: 4 Girls Nearly Perish in River

19 Aug

I almost died this weekend. 

Two of my best friends from college, Jenna and Danay, came to Washington to visit me and Hannah.  They graduated the year before me, and it’s been quite a while since I’ve seen them.  It’s so good to revisit old memories with them.  As a part of their visit to Washington – a first for both of them – we went tubing down the Yakima River on Saturday. 

Now, I’ve been tubing down several rivers before (and even white-water rafting).  Therefore, I felt like I was going into this adventure as a very experienced tubing veteran.  This was definitely not the case.

This particular day the river was exceptionally hateful.  It threw us into trees and bushes, attacked us with spiders, and tried to rip my back to shreds by throwing me into a rock wall.  On top of all this, my tube and Hannah’s tube got disconnected from Jenna and Danay’s, and we were separated from them for the last half of the trip.  So much for bonding. 

Then I got stung by a hornet, and it hurt like crazy.  I was miserable.  But all-in-all, we had a blast.  We laughed so hard that my abs hurt like crazy the next day. 

Sunday we went to the Olympic Game Farm in Sequim, WA (pronounced “Skwim”).  We had zebras and bison and buffalo coming up to our windows to eat bread from us.  And there was an awesome bear that waved at us when we waved at him.  It was A – M – A – Z – I – N – G. 

We have done so much, and it’s so exciting to see my friends again.  Can’t wait to see more when I visit Texas next month.  🙂

___________________________________________________________________________________________

*If you’d like to be added to my email list so you can be notified when I post a new blog, shoot me an email at kendall@ymimissions.org.

Quick Links:

Contribute to my ministry at YMI

Youth Missions International Website

Project Resonate with John Yao

Follow me on Twitter

One Response to “Newsflash: 4 Girls Nearly Perish in River”

  1. Ken Clary August 22, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    The river are kinder and gentler in the GREAT state of TEXAS!!!
    love you and miss you with all that is within me

    YOUR DADDY

Leave a Reply

