Archive | 2:54 pm

ETBU Re-visited

16 Sep

Here I find myself once again on the campus on the hill: ETBU.  I feel like it has been an eternity since I walked these hallowed halls.  But it’s only been a couple of months…

Yet, so much has changed.  I forget that life continued here after I graduated.  There are a million freshmen and a million faces I don’t recognize.  But it’s so good to be back in the community that I called home for four (rather long) years. I attended Release (the Baptist Student Ministry’s weekly worship service) last night, and it was amazing to worship with the body once again.

I’ve seen so many friends that I’ve missed.  It’s so great to catch up with them and see how life is going.

enjoying time with my sister at good ol' ETBU

enjoying time with my sister at good ol' ETBU

Today, I went to chapel and sat outside the cafeteria at lunch to do some promotion for YMI’s college program and had some students who were really interested in what we’ve got going on.  I’m excited for the prospects of what might be.

Tomorrow, I will be attending class.  And I know what you’re thinking, “Didn’t you just graduate and celebrate not going to class anymore?”  Yes, friends, I did.  But, one of my favorite professors, Dr. John Harris, is teaching his Prophets class (my favorite class at ETBU) in the morning, and I’ve decided to attend with Bible and notepad in hand.  I think he will be pleasantly surprised (unless someone spills the beans to him ahead of time – or if he reads this blog).

Being back here is causing a surprising emotion to arise.  I say surprising because I didn’t expect to feel remorse.  Yes, remorse.  Remorse for the time I wasted.  Remorse for not devoting myself to God’s Word consistently.  Remorse for passing up opportunities to serve.  Remorse for not seeing every precious collegiate moment as a blessing.

With that being said, I feel blessed and humbled that God has moved in my life in such a way that I recognize my mistakes and can start anew.  Dear reader, God is good.

___________________________________________________________________________________________

*If you’d like to be added to my email list so you can be notified when I post a new blog, shoot me an email at kendall@ymimissions.org.

Quick Links:

Contribute to my ministry at YMI

Youth Missions International Website

Project Resonate with John Yao

Follow me on Twitter