30 Days of Thankful

25 Nov

In light of Thanksgiving, I decided to make a list of 30 things/people/whatever I am thankful for – one for every day of the month of November (in random order).  Some are serious; some are…not so serious.

I am thankful for…

  • Matthew – my best friend and incredible boyfriend – for always being there for me, for always laughing at my jokes (no matter how lame they are)and being silly with me, for always getting excited about the things I find exciting (even the seemingly unexciting things), and for countless other reasons.
  • Sweet, selfless prayers from a 9-year-old.
  • New friends and opportunities for fellowship.
  • Good health.
  • Central Baptist Church Hillsboro – for being such an integral part of my spiritual formation throughout jr. high, high school, and college.
  • Jesus’ death, burial, and resurrection – because of him I am saved by grace through faith (Eph. 2:8).
  • Naps.
  • My dog, Tex – because he is the best dog in the world.
  • April 19, 1993 – the day my sweet Jesus saved me from myself.
  • Pastor Jamie – for tending to his little flock at FBCPO and for not being afraid to step on some toes, including mine.
  • Sheila & Steve Cochran – my “adopted WA parents,” who love me and take care of me here in WA.
  • Music – especially The Beatles, Coldplay, and Hanson.
  • Hannah – my roommate and friend – for “blessing” me (please excuse the inside joke).
  • 22 years and 9 months of life. (Geez, I’m getting old!)
  • My car (as old and clunky as it is) – for getting me all the way to WA from TX with no problems.
  • My family – for loving and supporting me every step of the way, even when I move 2000 miles away from them.
  • ETBU – for my education and the life lessons it taught me throughout (and even after) the four years I was there.
  • God’s mercy and grace – that they are renewed daily.
  • Ice cream.
  • Youth Missions International – for giving me the opportunity to follow my calling and serve in the Northwest.
  • The library – for providing me with hours upon hours of free entertainment.
  • Weekends.
  • The Jarretts and The Cooks – Hannah’s family – for being awesome and for being great friends to me these last couple of years.
  • God’s faithful and unending provision.
  • First Baptist Church Port Orchard – for lovingly taking me in and making me a part of their family.
  • Kasie, Kenneth, and Kristen – for being the coolest siblings of all time.  OF ALL TIME.
  • Mentors.
  • Babies – for their sweet innocence and fresh life.
  • The Venturas – Matthew’s family – for being my second family.
  • The Greening Family – for being my Texas buddies here in the Northwest.

I hope all of you have just as many reasons (and more) to be thankful.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Leave a Reply

