Blessings All Around

2 Dec

Thanksgiving has come and gone – I can’t believe it.  I was blessed to be able to spend my first Thanksgiving away from home with the Ventura family.  Matthew made a delicious dinner, and I made two decadent chocolate pecan pies.  That afternoon Matthew and I went to see A Christmas Carol in 3D, which was a fun way to end the holiday.  Now it’s time to prepare for the Christmas holiday, and I’m so excited!  Matthew and I went Christmas gift shopping for his nieces and nephews the other day, and it was so fun getting to pick out kid stuff.  And Matthew has a very special surprise for them.  I can’t wait to see their little faces light up!

In other news, I have had several donations for my ministry come in lately.  I feel so blessed to have so many people who support what the Lord is doing through my ministry with YMI.  I’d like to send out a big THANK YOU to each of you who have offered financial and prayer support for me over the last couple of months.

The Lord has been doing so much in my life recently.  Matthew’s dad, Stephen, lent me a book (Handle with Prayer by Charles Stanley) a couple of weeks ago, and it has been transforming my prayer life.  One of the subjects the book talks about is praying with authority.  Specifically, this concept has changed the way I pray about God’s provision.  In Matthew 6:25-34, Jesus tells us not to be anxious because God provides, and  Philippians 4:19-20 says that God will supply our needs.  Therefore, Ishould not pray to God asking him to provide because I know he will; instead, I should thank God for what he has promised me he will provide.  Once I started approaching the “throne of grace with confidence” (Hebrews 4:16) my spirit is completely at peace and does not doubt for a minute that God will do what he has said he will do.

Another thing God has showed me just this morning was related to my thoughts.  The last couple of days I have had a “hunger and thirst for righteousness” (Matthew 5:6) unlike I have ever experienced before.  Several times I have thought to myself that all I really desire right now is to be righteous in the eyes of the Lord.  And then it hit me:

“O LORD, you have searched me and known me!  You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you have discerned my thoughts from afar.” – Psalm 139:1-2 (Special thanks to Matthew who pointed me to these verses when I mentioned all of this to him.)

The Lord knows my thoughts; he knows my heart and my desires.  What an odd moment it was when this truth really sunk in.  I am overjoyed that God knows my innermost thoughts and that he’s listening to them even when I do not realize it.  Praise be to our Creator for intimately knowing his creations!

_________________________________________________________________

Click on these links below:

Christmas YMI

Christmas Give

Christmas Twitter

Christmas Subscribe

One Response to “Blessings All Around”

  1. Jamie greening December 2, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Great blog kendall.

Leave a Reply

