Guns, Horses, and a Kitchen Catastrophe (Almost)

9 Dec

Not much has happened around here lately.  Hannah and I decorated the apartment last night with a few Christmas decorations and watched a few Christmas movies to get into the holiday spirit and enjoy some roomie time, since we don’t get much of it anymore.

Yesterday I was fortunate to meet Juca Cerpe and his daughter Julia, two of YMI’s missionary contacts in Brazil.  They are here in WA for a visit to learn about how we operate as a missions organization and do fundraising because they are going to be establishing a Brazilian YMI (MJI in Portugese) very soon.  I’ve heard so much about them, and it was awesome to finally meet them.  Juca said he had a question for me and (jokingly) asked if all Texans have a gun and a horse.  I shot a quick glance to Brian (the YMI president), who I knew put Juca up to asking me.  Nevertheless, it was so funny.

The other night Matthew and I made fettuccine alfredo…except it wasn’t really fettuccine, just some other pasta.  But it was homemade and so yummy!  Matthew even let me help, which may not have been the best idea.  The whole time I kept waiting and waiting for the water to bowl so we could cook the pasta – the one part I actually knew how to do (although I also got to grate the cheese as well).   So after all the waiting, Matthew finally said I could put the pasta in the boiling water.  *DISCLAIMER: Now you have to understand that I’m from a family of six.  So I’m conditioned to cook for six people.*  Just as I’m pouring the box of pasta in the water, Matthew tries to tell me not to pour in the entire box.  But he was too late.  Needless to say, there was a little extra pasta left over when we were done, since we were cooking for just the two of us.  The good news is that my boyfriend is the greatest and doesn’t get mad at me for little mess ups like cooking the entire box of pasta instead of just a quarter of it.  We actually had a good laugh over it.  And now he knows to be a little more specific with me when it comes to cooking!

Anyway, that’s what’s been going down in my life recently.  Be blessed by this verse (thanks to Jenna Huesing for showing it to me the other day):

“Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread.”

Proverbs 30:8

_________________________________________________________________

Click on these links below:

Christmas YMI

Christmas Give

Christmas Twitter

Christmas Subscribe

Leave a Reply

