First Post in 2010!

13 Jan

Hello, oh reader of my blog.  Sorry for the lack of blog-age last week.  I just wasn’t quite ready to get back in the groove of things after the holidays. 

In my last blog, I talked about my experience getting stuck in Texas, and, by the grace of God, I was able to make it back to Washington on New Year’s Eve (and in time to ring in the new year with some good friends).  The plane ride was exhaustingly boring and long, but I was just happy to be on it!

Months ago I posted a blog that was simply a video tour of my apartment, and I mentioned that from my balcony we have a great view of the Tacoma Narrows Bridge.  But because it was night time, we couldn’t capture it very well on the video.  So we FINALLY had a pretty day, and I was able to snap a few shots of our view.

 

It’s a spectacular view, if you ask me.  I drive across the bridge several times a week to visit Port Orchard, where my church family and boyfriend are.  You can actually see our apartment from the bridge.  Pretty sweet.

As of late, I’ve taken up the hobby of crocheting.  Many of you know that I learned to knit in college and really enjoyed it.  So I decided to try something new.  And, let me tell you, I’m a crocheting machine.  I’ve learned to make so many fun things, including this scarf:

It was so easy to make and only took me a few hours.  If I had tried to knit a scarf of that length, it would have taken me a month!  Therefore, I believe I now prefer crocheting to knitting.  (For those of you who stumbled on my blog simply because of the scarf, click here for the pattern I used to make the granny squares.  I made the square, single crocheted around the edge with a separate color, and whipstiched the squares together, with nine squares total.)

I’ve also made tons of hats, baby hats, and soda cozies.  I’m really enjoying it – I just wish I had more yarn!  My next project to tackle is a baby blanket.  I know a couple of ladies who are prego, and I’m stoked about giving them a baby blanket made with a little TLC.  Looking forward to posting pics of them for you in the near future!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

subscribe give

YMI twitter

Leave a Reply

