Books, books, books

24 Mar

Recently I have become an avid reader.  Matthew’s mom got me hooked on the Twilight Series by Stephenie Meyer (even though I said I never would), and I am currently on the third (out of four) book, Eclipse.  I’m liking the series to far, despite the weird concepts of vampires and werewolves, but that doesn’t mean I’m going to stand outside the theater for hours waiting for the new movie to come out.  I’m not quite to that point of obsessive-ness.

Last week I read The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, and it was such a good book.  I cried for about an hour once I started nearing the end.  Such a tear-jerker, but totally worth it.  Matthew and I watched the movie the night after I finished the book, and I have to say I was disappointed.  Don’t get me wrong; the movie was good.  But there were so many differences between the movie and the book that I just couldn’t like it as much as I wanted to like it.  I probably should have just watched the movie first.

And yesterday, Matthew and I spent the afternoon meandering the streets of the Port Orchard waterfront (because today was absolutely too beautiful to spend indoors), which happens to be where the library is located.  Matthew hates doesn’t care for the library too much, but he humored me (out of the love in his big heart) by reluctantly lovingly spending some time there with me while I looked for more books to read.  Here’s what I gleefully came home with:

Animal Farm by George Orwell,

The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger,

The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald,

Something Blue by Emily Giffin, and

200 Crochet Blocks for Blankets, Throws, and Afghan by Jan Eaton.

I know it’s a sort of eclectic list of books, but I am so excited about reading each one of them (with the exception of the crochet book, which I won’t technically be reading).  I discovered that the Port Orchard library has a section that is dedicated to the Classics, like Nineteen Eighty-Four (George Orwell), Brave New World (Aldous Huxley), and The Great Gatsby (F. Scott Fitzgerald), all of which I’ve read and thoroughly enjoyed.  I was like a kid in a candy store and wanted to check out every one of them but decided to use a little self-control and only chose three to bring home this time. I’ll be sure to let you know how I like all of them!

The more that you read,
the more things you will know.
The more that you learn,
the more places you’ll go.”
-Dr. Seuss –

___________________________________________________________________________________________

subscribe give

YMI twitter

Leave a Reply

