Oh the Wonderful Cross

31 Mar

I thought I would use this week’s post to give you a ministry-specific update on the goings-on in my life.  YMI  is blossoming in its ministry.  We’re still “opening up” YMI Brasil and getting things rolling in that department, and, as the summer is getting surprisingly close, we’re preparing for all of our summer trips and new trainings.

For me personally, my ministry has come to a point of uncertainty – unfortunately.  Due to a lack of sufficient funding, my time here in the Northwest is looking more and more limited.  I admit, this is a hard thing to come out and say.  My heart has been struggling with this for so long now because I so desire to be involved in ministry here.  My prayer is that God will give me clear direction about what my next step should be.

I hope that you are eagerly anticipating Easter and what it really means.  What beauty there is in the cross, don’t you think?  The other day I was reading the account of the Crucifixion in Luke (Lk 23:26-42), and I was at the part where the two thieves on the cross are talking to Jesus.  One says (in my words), “Hey, man, if you’re for real get us off of here?”  And the other guy says (again, in my words), “You ignorant fool.  Don’t you know that we deserve to be up here, whereas this man is innocent?”  Then he requests simply that Jesus remember him in his kingdom.  And, in the midst of his suffering, Jesus says, “Truly, I say to you, today you will be with me in Paradise” (Lk 23:42 – ESV)!  I’m not sure exactly why, but when I read this, I found myself weeping.  I think it’s because it’s really that simple.  We just have to accept Christ and what he’s done for us, and we can spend eternity with him.  Beautiful.

**EDIT**

Looks like I’ll be in the Northwest a little longer – I just got a job offer with the Boys and Girls Club of America as the Teen Site Coordinator of the North Mason branch!  Praise the Lord!  Isn’t his timing perfect?!  I’ll give a little more informative update on the job in next week’s post.  🙂

___________________________________________________________________________________________

2 Responses to “Oh the Wonderful Cross”

  1. Brian March 31, 2010 at 1:28 pm #

    Ah yes – God’s provision is always perfectly timed. The hard part is the wait. I’m thrilled about this job, Kendall. Praise God for His provision!

  2. josh April 7, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    wow. beautiful post and really inspiring perspective. thanks for sharing. and congrats about being able to stay in the northwest. it’s where all the cool people do ministry.

Leave a Reply

