This is how I roll

23 Apr

I know what you’re thinking, “Kendall!  It’s been forever since you posted a new blog!  I was beginning to wonder if you’re still alive!!!”  Ok.  So maybe you weren’t thinking that exact thing…but something close to it.

I know it’s been forever, and I apologize for that.  My world has been insane over the past 2-3 weeks.  But I can’t complain.  Life is so grand right now.  The Lord has been blessing me in so many ways, and I feel so unworthy.  But that’s what makes his love perfect – he gives it even though we are so undeserving.  🙂

So you wanna know more about my new job?  Ok!  Well, I started 3 weeks ago at the North Mason Teen Center (a branch of the Boys & Girls Club of South Puget Sound in Belfair, WA), and my official title is the Site Coordinator.  My job is actually a lot of fun.

I get to the teen center around 12 pm every day (which is a-mazing, if you ask me) and do a number of different tasks before the kids get there around 2:30 (every day except for Monday when they get there at 1:05) and before I leave around 6 pm.  I would say my biggest duty is to hang out with the kids and make sure they don’t kill each other – which sometimes also proves to be the most challenging.  Haha.

But I do a lot more behind-the-scenes stuff too.  I organize and plan different programs for the teens.  Some of these programs are just for girls/guys where we talk about different issues.  One of the programs is all about preparing teens for their careers, which includes goal-setting and making “time-lines” for their futures.  We’re also thinking about starting a garden at the teen center with our teens as part of our Healthy Habits program that involves making healthy choices related to physical health.  And we also have leadership clubs – one for middle school and one for high school – as a part of the teen center that allows our teens to learn/use leadership skills.

The whole thing is actually pretty exciting.  Not only do the teens get to chill with their friends after school, but they also get opportunities to excel that they might not get otherwise.  And, although this job isn’t technically “ministry,” what a ministry it is!  I am blessed to have the opportunity to impact the lives of young people every day, and it’s truly exciting.  And to top it all off, I work with some really awesome people.  We are constantly joking around and making our work environment much more fun (at least that’s what I think).

So yeah.  That’s pretty much how I roll these days.  My work with YMI has been limited since I started this new job, but I’m praying the Lord will give me opportunities to be involved as much as I can and to learn how to strike a balance between the two jobs.  Needless to say, there is certainly never a dull moment!

Peace, love, and applesauce!  <<< (don’t ask – I don’t even know)

_________________________________________________________________

P.S.  Here’s some picture love from the Tulip Festival that I mentioned in the last post.  I took these with my Nikon Coolpix camera.  They turned out pretty good, I think.  Click on the thumbnails for a better view.  🙂

Leave a Reply

