One Year = 11 Facts

8 May

It’s been a year.  Yup, a year.  Since what?  Several things.

I graduated from ETBU a year ago on May 2nd.  I can’t believe that a year has already passed by since I finished college.  What a weird feeling.  So much has happened in the last year, and, yet, it feels like I just graduated yesterday.  In the last couple of weeks, it’s been so odd to see my ETBU Facebook friends counting down the last days until their graduation from ETBU.  I remember doing the same thing myself.  That feeling of eliminating one more day and getting that much closer to the end is exhilarating.  I’m so excited for those who graduated from ETBU last weekend, and I pray for this new excursion in their lives.

Another one year anniversary: moving to WA!  That’s right, folks.  I officially moved to WA a year ago today, and I can hardly believe it.  I feel like I’ve made a big achievement: surviving for a year.  Haha.  Looking back, one year of living in the Northwest felt so far away, and now I’m moving on to year number two.  Geez.

So what have I learned in the past year since graduation and living far away from home?  Here are a couple of things:

  1. Life is hard.  Ha.
  2. But the Lord is good and faithful.
  3. Having a loving, supportive church family is an amazing blessing.
  4. The older you get, the more you realize how little you actually know.  Can I get a witness?
  5. Relationships – all of them – are tough…but so worth it.
  6. Having a college degree doesn’t get you direct access to a job – unfortunately.
  7. Finally getting a great job makes the four years of college feel worth it.
  8. Loving people is humbling.
  9. Being loved back is even more humbling.
  10. Seeing your family only twice in one year makes you more homesick than you will ever know.
  11. Throughout everything – good and bad (especially the bad) – God is worthy of my worship and praise.

There are about a million other things I’ve learned (and probably about a million more yet to be learned), but I’m sure you’d prefer to read a blog and not a book.

Special shout out to my mom – I love you so much and appreciate all you’ve done and sacrificed for me (and the other 3 kiddos) throughout the last 23+ years.  I want to be you when I grow up.  Happy Mother’s Day!

My Beautiful Mother & Me

And another special shout out to Jessica Huckaby and her adorable kiddos, Mattie and Calton – “I’ve spanked people just to spank ’em.  You best be afraid.”

And happy mother’s day to all the other fabulous mothers out there!

One Response to “One Year = 11 Facts”

  1. Mick Lathrop May 9, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    “4. The older you get, the more you realize how little you actually know. Can I get a witness?”

    Yes, very yes.

    Mickl

Leave a Reply

