Summer Servers

26 Jun

So at my church a couple of weeks ago, we had a missionary couple (who serves in China) speak during the Sunday morning service.  It was an incredibly cool opportunity to hear what they had to say about their ministry and how we can be involved.

And then this morning as I was lying in bed (before I actually decided to get out of it), I kept thinking about all the people I know who are serving the Lord this summer all over the world.  I know lots of students who are going on trips with YMI, for one.  My cousin, Rebekah, is flying home today from a mission trip to China, and I know several people from college who are going on trips this summer as well.

But I think one of the coolest things for me is to hear about teenagers I’ve worked with in the past as a youth intern who are spending their summers doing missions overseas.  I feel so blessed to have been able to minister to them while they were younger as they now minister to others.

Many times in ministry, we don’t get to see the fruits of what the Lord has us doing.  (And sometimes that can be discouraging or frustrating.)  But other times the Lord says (to me anyways), “Kendall, just wait.  You’ll see…”  And then, somewhere down the road, I get this glimpse of the bigger picture.  It’s only a small glimpse, but it seems so gargantuan in my little world when I get to see what God has used little me to do for the Kingdom.

My heart is so overwhelmed with emotions I can’t even begin to explain.  I want to rejoice from the east to the west about how beautiful my God is.

My prayers go out to each and every one of you who are serving the Lord this summer around the world (including the states).  May God touch the hearts of every nation through your work!

How, then, can they call on the one they have not believed in? And how can they believe in the one of whom they have not heard? And how can they hear without someone preaching to them?  And how can they preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!

Romans 10:14-15

Leave a Reply

